Feb. 9 Happy New Year (Again!)

IMG_3662

I was cleaning up for this New Year and came across these wonderful reliances. In Buddhism, just like in many schools of Christianity, when you seek refuge (or in lay mans terms, when you join the tribe) you are given a new name. Many teachers will give a book with your new name and its meaning transcribed inside along with a prayer to carry you along in the next step of you journey. I happened upon the books I was given when I took refuge in 2006 with Khenpo Uygen Tenzin and in 2008 when I took my Bodhisattva Vows with my teacher, the Very Venerable Bardor Tulku Rinpoche. Some teachers have specific ways of given dharma names as they are called. But mine were “randomly” selected yet some how they feel right. Pictured from within the books are: Top, His Holiness the 17th Gyalwang Karmapa and His Holiness the 16th Gyalwang Karmapa, Karma Kagyu Lineage Holders. May all beings benefit!

Leave a comment